Ohio Supreme Court Justice Sharon Kennedy will be in Tiffin on Wednesday, October 9 for three events. She will be speaking to the monthly Seneca County Republican luncheon at noon at Fort Ball Pizza, 91 N. Washington St., Tiffin. It is open to the public, no reservations are needed, and everyone is welcome to attend.


Earlier in the day, she will speak to students at Seneca East High School and Tiffin University. These educational non-partisan events were set up by students Eli Heal and Bryan LaVearn.

 Justice Kennedy was elected to the court in 2012, and previously served at the Butler County Court of Common Pleas, Domestic Relations Division beginning in 1999. She began her career in the justice system as a police officer at the Hamilton Police Department.


official biography and photo:



Tiffin University 8:00 am to 9:00 am

Seneca East High School 9:30 am to 11:00 am

luncheon at Fort Ball Pizza 11:30 am to 1:00 pm (speaking at noon)


The luncheon is open to press coverage. The student events may be open to press coverage by contacting the student organizers.



Justice Kennedy office, 800-826-9010

David Koehl, Chairman, Seneca County Republican Party , 419-447-7205

AuthorNathan Somers


The Seneca County Republican Central Committee will fill the county commissioner vacancy on Mon. July 29 at 7:00 pm. The meeting is open to the public, and will be held at North Central Ohio Educational Service Center, 928 W. Market St., Tiffin. If there are more than ten candidates for the vacancy, five finalists will be selected on July 29, and the final selection will be made on Mon. August 5 at the same time and location.

Applicants must be registered voters in Seneca County and members of the Republican Party. Resumes and cover letters must be received at P. O. Box 223, Tiffin, Ohio 44883-0223 by July 15. They may also be emailed to . A list of committee members is available from the same address or the Board of Elections. The committee has 47 members.

The process is in section 305.02 of the Ohio Revised Code and Section F of the committee bylaws.

The appointment is for the unexpired term of Holly Stacy, who is resigning effective July 19. There will be no special election. The election for the full term will be in November, 2020, with a filing deadline in December, 2019.

There are five declared candidates so far. Alphabetically, they are Jim Cline, Bill Frankart, Charlie Palmer, Tony Paradiso, and Bill Schultz. They and any other applicants will have the opportunity to meet committee members and the public at the Republican tent at the Seneca County Fair, July 22-28. They will also be invited to speak briefly at the monthly Republican luncheon, which is open to the public and press. It is Wed. July 10 from 11:30 am to 1:00 pm in the back room of Fort Ball Pizza, 91 N. Washington St., Tiffin.

- 30 -

CONTACT: Chairman David W. Koehl, , 419-447-7205

Secretary Deb Wilkinson, , 419-447-7909

Contact information for the candidates is available upon request.

AuthorNathan Somers




Fran DeWine, wife of Ohio Attorney General Mike DeWine, will be visiting the Seneca County Fair on Monday, July 23 from 3:00 pm to 4:00 pm. She will be at the Republican tent in the center of the midway, then touring the grounds with County Commissioner Holly Stacy.


Mike DeWine is the Republican nominee for Governor in the November election. Fran will be handing out free copies of her cookbook, which has been a feature of his campaigns for many years. It has a variety of family favorite recipes.


The 176th annual fair in Tiffin begins Monday and runs through Sunday, July 29. The Republican tent has free hand-held fans, hot popcorn, cold water, and chairs to relax. Free copies of the DeWine cookbook will be available throughout the week.


            • 30 -


Contact: Tammy Puff or (419) 565-8795 for interview requests

David Koehl or 419-447-7205 or 567-207-5778

AuthorNathan Somers



The Seneca County Republican Central Committee met Thursday, June 7 at the Board of Elections to reorganize and select officers. All members of the Central Committee were appointed to the Executive Committee.

David W. Koehl was elected as Chairman of both committees. Koehl is also a member of the Board of Elections. Former Chairman Jim Roberts declined to run for a new term to concentrate on his roles as a member of Tiffin City Council and working with veterans.

Bettsville Village Council member Linda Davis was promoted to First Vice Chairman of both committees. Board of Elections Director Jim Ehrman will serve as Second Vice Chairman of the Central Committee, and Vanessa Treft was selected as Second Vice Chairman of the Executive Committee after a tie vote. Deb Wilkinson was elected as Secretary of both committees.

The committee also discussed plans for the county fair tent, annual hog roast, candidates night, and the fall election. Jacob Huner spoke on behalf of US Senate candidate Jim Renacci, and State Central Committeeman Gary Click discussed plans for the state Republican Party.

Koehl thanked members for their support. The committee has 39 members and 13 vacancies. Anyone in a vacant precinct may email or phone 419-447-7205 for more information about becoming a member.

CONTACT: Chairman David W. Koehl or 419-447-7205

AuthorNathan Somers